RETAINED LIST: Webster and Morris head released list; El-Mhanni given another year

Scunthorpe have released their retained list ahead of the 2019/20 season, and it’s fair to say there were not too many major shocks.

Iron fans had thankfully had time to accept that Josh Morris would be leaving this summer, after a hugely successful three years with the club.

He looks set to head to the Championship, with a host of clubs ‘reportedly’ tracking the winger. He leaves with Any Old Iron‘s greatest respect, what a player.

The only minor shock was that Yasin Ben El-Mhanni has been offered an extension, but to be honest I want to see more of the lad. A full pre season under his belt with a chance to impress new manager Paul Hurst, and he could be a belter in League Two.

Full details of the retained list is as follows, as per the official Scunthorpe United website:

Out of contract and subsequently free agents: Byron Webster, Josh Morris, Jonathan Flatt.

Options exercised: Lee Novak (automatic extension, as reported in March), Yasin Ben El-Mhanni, Levi Sutton, George Hornshaw, Adam Kelsey.

Under contract next season: Jordan Clarke, Funso Ojo, Matthew Lund, James Horsfield, Kevin van Veen, Andy Dales, Rory Watson, James Perch, Clayton Lewis, Charlie Goode, Cameron Burgess, Rory McArdle, Olufela Olomola, Harrison McGahey, Kyle Wootton, Jordan Hallam, Jacob Bedeau, Lewis Butroid, Tom Pugh, Adam Hammill, Ryan Colclough, Jai Rowe.

Loan players returning to parent club: Cameron Borthwick-Jackson, Tony McMahon, Tom Pearce, George Thomas, Jak Alnwick.


Follow our Facebook page for the latest updates from the site:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s